Undergraduate Curriculum

Important Update

In January 2014, VCU’s University Undergraduate Curriculum Committee approved new degree requirements for the Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in African American Studies. The new degree requirements will be effective for the Fall 2014 Bulletin.

If you declared African American Studies as a major before fall 2014, then you will have the option to remain under your old bulletin (pre-Fall 2014) or to switch to the new bulletin. Otherwise the Fall 2014 Bulletin will be used for all new registrants to the major.

The New African American Studies Curriculum and Major

 The Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in African American Studies is an interdisciplinary degree that provides students with knowledge of human cultures and intellectual and practical skills to engage complexity, diversity, and change. The degree program fosters students’ personal and social responsibility and, through applied learning experiences, empowers students to negotiate and to solve the complex problems of the 21st century. African American Studies majors often pursue graduate and professional degree programs in Business, Education, History, International Relations, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, and Social Work. Career opportunities with a B.A. only in African American Studies include employment in community health agencies, public and private schools, and non-profit organizations.

 Students majoring in African American studies must meet the general education requirements of the College of Humanities and Sciences. The Bachelor of Arts in African American Studies requires the completion of 120 credits with at least 30 credits in African American Studies courses. At least 15 of the 30 credits in African American Studies must be in upper-division courses.

 Students also are required to establish an area of study by taking either a minimum of four courses in a single cooperating department or in one of the following multidisciplinary concentrations: Artistic, Historical and Literary; Political, Religious, and Sociological; Social and Behavioral. At least one of the four courses taken in a single cooperating department must have an Africana focus, and at least one of the four courses must be an upper division course.

 A cooperating department or program is defined as one that regularly offers at least one course with an Africana focus per year, which includes: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Dance, English, Geography, History, Mass Communications, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology, Theatre and Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies. When non-Africana focused courses are used to meet the concentration requirement, they must be selected in consultation with the African American Studies adviser.